## 30.—Legislatures of Alberta, 1945-64, as at Apr. 30, 1964

Note.-Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 82; for 1924-34 in the 1938 edition, p. 117; and for 1935-44 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 90.

|      | ate of<br>ection | Legislature | Number<br>of Sessions | Date of<br>First Opening | Date of<br>Dissolution |
|------|------------------|-------------|-----------------------|--------------------------|------------------------|
| Aug. | 8, 1944          | 10th        | 5                     | Feb. 22, 1945            | July 16, 1948          |
| Aug. | 17, 1948         | 11th        | 5                     | Feb. 17, 1949            | June 28, 1952          |
| Aug. | 5, 1952          | 12th        | 3                     | Feb. 19, 1953            | May 12, 1955           |
| June | 29, 1955         | 13th        | 5                     | Aug. 17, 1955            | May 9, 1959            |
| June | 18, 1959         | 14th        | 5                     | Feb. 11, 1960            | May 9, 1963            |
| June | 17, 1963         | 15th        | 1                     | Feb. 13, 1964            | 1                      |

<sup>1</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at Apr. 30, 1964.

## 31.—Eighth Ministry of Alberta, as at Apr. 30, 1964

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 17, 1963: 60 Social Credit, 2 Liberal and 1 Coalition.)

| Office  | Name   | Date of<br>First<br>Appointment   | Date of<br>Present<br>Appointment  |
|---|--|---|--|
| Premier, President of Council and Attorney<br>General<br>Minister of Municipal Affairs<br>Minister of Highways<br>Minister of Education<br>Minister of Public Welfare<br>Minister of Lands and Forests<br>Provincial Treasurer<br>Minister of Public Works.<br>Minister of Industry and Development and<br>Minister of Mines and Minerals | Hon. ERNEST C. MANNING<br>Hon. Alfred J. Hooke,<br>Hon. Gordon E. Taylor<br>Hon. Anders O. Aalborg<br>Hon. Neonard C. Halmrast<br>Hon. Norman A. Willmore<br>Hon. Edgar W. Hinman<br>Hon. Fred. C. Colborne<br>Hon. A. Russell Patrick | Sept. 9, 1952<br>Jan. 3, 1953<br>Nov. 10, 1953<br>Dec. 23, 1954<br>Aug. 2, 1955 | (May 31, 1943<br>Aug. 2, 1955<br>Aug. 2, 1955<br>May 1, 1951<br>Sept. 9, 1952<br>Oct. 15, 1962<br>Aug. 2, 1955<br>Aug. 2, 1955<br>Nov. 30, 1962<br>(Sept. 1, 1959<br>Oct. 15, 1962 |
| Minister of Labour and Minister of Tele-<br>phones<br>Minister of Health<br>Provincial Secretary<br>Minister without Portfolio<br>Minister without Portfolio  | Hon. RAYMOND REIERSON<br>Hon. Dr. J. DONOVAN ROSS<br>Hon. HARRY E. STROM<br>Hon. AMBROSE HOLOWACH<br>Hon. IRA MCLAUGHLIN<br>Hon. ETHEL S. WILSON   | Oct. 15, 1962   | Sept. 22, 1959<br>Sept. 18, 1957<br>Oct. 15, 1962<br>Oct. 15, 1962<br>Nov. 30, 1962<br>Nov. 30, 1962   |

## Subsection 10.-British Columbia

The Government of British Columbia has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Maj.-Gen. the Hon. George Randolph Pearkes, Lieutenant-Governor at Apr. 30, 1964, was commissioned to office Oct. 13, 1960. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1871) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 118.

The Legislative Assembly, elected for a statutory term of five years, has 52 members. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 118.

Each member of the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional allowance of \$4,000 and \$1,000 for expenses. There is also paid to each member a living allowance of \$25 for each day's attendance at the session and for each Saturday, Sunday or holiday that intervenes between two sittings of the House; the allowance of \$25